Levi Shalom, a father’s love for his newborn baby

God is agape love.  The nature of agape love is that it doesn’t love to get.  It simply loves.  It isn’t selfishly looking to receive, but is firmly and legitimately centered on another.  Agape pours out love to another, and the joy is not in getting something in return, but simply in the act of the out-pouring, the giving of self for the benefit of another.  This is the definition of God, for God is love.

In the following 4-minute reflection on the love of God, I’d like to share with you the insights God has given me about His love since becoming a father 2 weeks ago.  My son, Levi, cannot yet even hold eye contact with me.  I get nothing from him at this point.  But, aside from my wife Cami, there’s no person I love more.  How much more, then, God must love with his infinite love.  Sure, the analogy, like any, has its limits, but for what it’s worth..

Audio (4 minutes): Reflections on God and my newborn son

UPDATE: Can’t believe I didn’t think of this when I posted, but Levi does give something back.  He periodically works really hard to produce a wonderful gift in his pants.  Upon receiving it, I say… “Gee, thanks.”  It has been said that to God our righteousness is “filthy rags” (Is 64:6).  But the lesson is this: he loves us anyway.

Also, I was discussing this with a friend yesterday, and he said, “well at least Levi is cute, God looks at our degraded bodies, a far cry from the perfection of Eden, and, we’ll we’re not that cute.”  Good point!

About Scott

God has given me a glimpse into his character of love, and it has changed me. My deep desire for every person is that they see Him as he truly is, forsake destructive habits of thought and living, and become a disciple of Jesus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Levi Shalom, a father’s love for his newborn baby

  1. Mark says:

    The family is the best illustration of God and his …. well, children, isn’t it? We can’t understand God’s love for us until we experience our own love for such a helpless and “useless” thing as a new newborn.

    And it has been noted many places that the relationship of husband and wife – a single being in multiple individuals, is a reflection of the very nature of God.

    God has given us outstanding gifts in his quest to help us understand. In the face of these, all the “theology” seems to just fade into the background noise. God’s love is awesome no matter how you look at it!

  2. Sara says:

    Scott,

    Thanks for sharing your testimony about the Love of God in yet another great way (the love you have for your son).

    fyi, I enjoyed sharing your website with a preacher I met at Starbucks the other day; I showed her the study (that you wrote and I appreciated) about “Why does God not just..” I appreciate your “old” and “new” website both.

  3. Scott says:

    Sara, thanks for the encouragement! I’m glad to hear that the good news about God’s love is worth sharing!!

Leave a Reply

