How do I know if I have misconceptions of God?

In Session 1 of the As He Is podcast, I discuss the fact that many of us have subconscious issues with God or misconceptions about God. One might wonder, though, “if it’s subconscious, how do I know whether I cherish misconceptions about God?”

Do this exercise, and it will diagnose whether or not you retain misconceptions about God’s character or not.

What is the first emotion you feel, what is the initial reaction you have, when I say this? “God knows your every thought and has seen your every deed. And he’s coming soon.”

If your initial emotional reaction contained an element of fear, apprehension, a desire to get away from God, or a feeling of being condemned, then you presently have misconceptions about God.

The truth about God is that he is our loving healer, our divine physician who is out to do nothing but heal us and save us from the sin that is destroying us.

Think about it this way. If you were sick and you had a wonderfully loving human father who was also a top physician, and I told you “your dad knows EXACTLY what’s wrong with you; he knows the symptoms; he knows EVERYTHING about the disease…and he’s coming over to your house soon,” would you feel fear and apprehension? Would you want to draw closer to him to receive his healing treatment or would you want to run and hide?

Once we view God in his true character of love, his true occupation of healing rather than condemning and punishing, we will then be able to rejoice that he knows our every thought and deed and that he’s coming near to us to change us. I don’t know about you, but I want a doctor who can make a correct diagnosis; who knows the intimate details of that which ails us and can thus treat our malady and heal.

“Search me, O God, and know my heart; Try me, and know my anxieties; And see if there is any wicked way in me, And lead me in the way everlasting” (Ps 139:23-24). The psalmist expresses trust in God’s searching eye, because he knows that it comes from the healer who can lead to the everlasting way. In the same psalm, David says “You have searched me and know me. You know my sitting down and my rising up; You understand my thought afar off…And are acquainted with all my ways” (v. 1-3). To David, this is comforting, as he states in verse 5, “You have hedged me behind and before, and laid Your hand upon me.”

Are you eager to have the hand of God upon you? Know that it is a healing hand that has nothing but your best interest in mind. It was Adam who ran and hid because he was afraid of God. He had misunderstood God’s character and intentions toward him. Not until we correct our understanding of God’s thoughts toward us will we be able to fully trust him and love him.

About Scott

God has given me a glimpse into his character of love, and it has changed me. My deep desire for every person is that they see Him as he truly is, forsake destructive habits of thought and living, and become a disciple of Jesus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

